Message Board

Banter

Message board > Banter 1 to 50 of 206
   Following 50Last 50

by Mark - Sat 23rd Jan 2010, 6:14pm
Oops!

http://rowing.ucam.org/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=783
by The Lovering Appreciation Society - Tue 8th Sep 2009, 7:45pm
http://bbc.co.uk/i/mq30z/

41 seconds in...The Lovering appears...more to come this thursday
by Joff - Wed 25th Jun 2008, 9:23pm
Richard said: I think Lilie's dad took it away to be repaired.

I have no idea where it is now, as it wasn't in the boathouse. Anyone know?
It was on it's way back.. until Bryn asked for it back so that it could be BURNED! It's been lovingly restored by my Dad, and it would break his heart if you were to burn it. Therefore until everyone can at least learn to be subtle enough not to tell him, it's staying put..!!
(Actually the reason it's not been returned yet is simply that we don't have a trailer or any other way to return it).
There are also photos of the restoration process, which might interest some people enough to put them on the website?
by Richard - Wed 12th Mar 2008, 12:57pm
Environ Mentalist said: Burn the Karlisch? BURN the KARLISCH? What?

Where is it, dare I ask? Or it it already causing climate change?

[I may have mentioned this before, but on a recent trip to Orleans, I noticed the club d'aviron there has a craft named "Jeanne d'Arc". I definitely think this would be one to get specifically to burn...)
Well, I didn't actually say burn it, but I think it's the only wooden eight left at the club. It was severely damaged in 2005, and I think Lilie's dad took it away to be repaired.

I have no idea where it is now, as it wasn't in the boathouse. Anyone know?
by Environ Mentalist - Tue 11th Mar 2008, 6:19pm
Richard said: Black Prince 5 was the boat that was burned.

I didn't see many more boats made of wood in the boathouse when I was there for the Lents. I suppose the Karlisch is still around somewhere, but whether you'd burn it is another thing.

An option is to acquire one from another club. I know my own club has a wooden Empacher VIII, which is owned by our Vets. I overheard them mentioning about getting a replacement the other day. Might have somehing to do with them using a hammer & chisel(?!) as well as a set of rigger jiggers whilst rigging for a race the other day. They might release it, but I'm not sure how much they would ask for it.

There were also a few wooden eights on show at the Lents from other clubs.
Burn the Karlisch? BURN the KARLISCH? What?

Where is it, dare I ask? Or it it already causing climate change?

[I may have mentioned this before, but on a recent trip to Orleans, I noticed the club d'aviron there has a craft named "Jeanne d'Arc". I definitely think this would be one to get specifically to burn...)
by Richard - Tue 11th Mar 2008, 6:01pm
Environ Mentalist said: Can anyone tell me which boat went up in smoke after the Lents?

We must now be getting close to a point where further Headships will result in "boat MELTINGS" rather than "burnings", non?

And what will Cambridge City Council's Environmenal Health Officer have to say about all those nasty emissions of furans and dioxins in an urban area? Will we have to carry out our melting in a municipal incinerator? Or can we fit the burning site on the Backs with a "scrubber"? (this joke now officially open for business)
Black Prince 5 was the boat that was burned.

I didn't see many more boats made of wood in the boathouse when I was there for the Lents. I suppose the Karlisch is still around somewhere, but whether you'd burn it is another thing.

An option is to acquire one from another club. I know my own club has a wooden Empacher VIII, which is owned by our Vets. I overheard them mentioning about getting a replacement the other day. Might have somehing to do with them using a hammer & chisel(?!) as well as a set of rigger jiggers whilst rigging for a race the other day. They might release it, but I'm not sure how much they would ask for it.

There were also a few wooden eights on show at the Lents from other clubs.
by Environ Mentalist - Tue 11th Mar 2008, 5:18pm
Can anyone tell me which boat went up in smoke after the Lents?

We must now be getting close to a point where further Headships will result in "boat MELTINGS" rather than "burnings", non?

And what will Cambridge City Council's Environmenal Health Officer have to say about all those nasty emissions of furans and dioxins in an urban area? Will we have to carry out our melting in a municipal incinerator? Or can we fit the burning site on the Backs with a "scrubber"? (this joke now officially open for business)
by wow - Mon 16th Jan 2006, 12:43am
Obviously NOT going for upper boats said: Oh come on I was even more drunk the than I am now, I've just got back from Dan's and I'm rowing at 1400, lol
Wow.
by Obviously NOT going for upper boats - Sat 14th Jan 2006, 5:23am
Anal, due to exams on Monday. said: I think you will find it should be 'any fewer', not 'any less'. Photographs are countable.
Oh come on I was even more drunk the than I am now, I've just got back from Dan's and I'm rowing at 1400, lol
by Anal, due to exams on Monday. - Sat 14th Jan 2006, 12:34am
I think you will find it should be 'any fewer', not 'any less'. Photographs are countable.
by Mysterious photo taker - Fri 13th Jan 2006, 2:03am
Is our beloved webmaster deletiing embarassing photos of herself, find out for yourself, I uploaded 16 photos from the curry night, if there are any less on the website, she has done!!!
by pia, active on the website today - Wed 9th Mar 2005, 11:44am
Anna Mc said: I've just confused my office by screaming very loudly.

Well done W1 - you are beyond great. This is so amazine and you overbumped the green monsters.

Churchill yesterday, Girton today, absolutely brilliant.
Thanks Anna!

We were beyond happy... we have avenged the crews bumped by Churchill and overbumped by Girton, and last year's Lent VIII by finishing two ahead of Pembroke.

Happy happy happy. I love bumps!

xxx
by Pia - Wed 9th Mar 2005, 11:42am
sarah said:

oh yeah, and is someone going to explain the first womens kit? looks vile on the photos... I must be getting old...
As Erica so truthfully explained, it's a lot of voodoo, really. A bit of arrogance mixed in with understatement to achieve the renowned FaT subtlety- I mean, who IS going to take a crew seriously that looks like the Cheshire Cat?

Also, the kit order didnt come through in time, nor did our plans for crew tops.

xx
by Mike - Tue 8th Mar 2005, 2:36pm
jpd said: Is this the first time that the mean position of our men's and women's top boats has been higher than that of LMBC?
No. At the end of day 2 in 1999, our men were head and the women had just rowed over in 9th place, one place behind LMBC. LMBC M1 had just been bumped down to 3rd by Caius, so we were ahead on mean position. If you are only counting positions at the end of the week's racing, I don't know.
by jpd - Tue 8th Mar 2005, 1:49pm
Mike said: Well done W1! Is this the highest position ever for FaT women?
Is this the first time that the mean position of our men's and women's top boats has been higher than that of LMBC?
by mjb - Mon 7th Mar 2005, 7:58pm
Rupert said: Where are the photos of the dinner/bop?!?! Surely someone must have had a camera?!
I believe Mr. Edwards was taking photos in the bop ...
by Rupert - Mon 7th Mar 2005, 7:28pm
Where are the photos of the dinner/bop?!?! Surely someone must have had a camera?!
by Andy - Fri 4th Mar 2005, 11:58pm
Good luck in the WeHORR, hopefully the women will hit Newnham, and we'll get Caius and all will be well :-)
by Anna Mc - Fri 4th Mar 2005, 9:15pm
Andy - sadly not coming up tomorrow as am rowing in WeHoRR and suspect it may kill me either through exhaustion or cold. I shall be there in spirit though - vodka preferably.
by Mike - Fri 4th Mar 2005, 7:18pm
sarah said: does the definition of uberblades allow for any sort of 'gaining more than 4 places in 4 bumps'?
That's been possible ever since bumps was introduced. I think Chris's definition of uber-blades was only meant to include five bumps on five different days. Any up 'more than 4' would need a different name; perhaps fat-blades?
by Stripey 4 - Fri 4th Mar 2005, 6:28pm
sarah said:
oh yeah, and is someone going to explain the first womens kit? looks vile on the photos... I must be getting old...
Vile? How dare you?! *We* think we look proper sexy in it!

It's specially imported from New Zealand, designed expressly to blind and daze/confuse any opposition. Clearly it works a treat...
by sarah - Fri 4th Mar 2005, 5:58pm
(the only crew still in with a shout of uber-blades)
does the definition of uberblades allow for any sort of 'gaining more than 4 places in 4 bumps'? (ie if W1 manage to bump newnham tomorrow they'll have gone up 6?) what's that, a megablade?

oh yeah, and is someone going to explain the first womens kit? looks vile on the photos... I must be getting old...
by Andy - Fri 4th Mar 2005, 5:53pm
I know, it's fantastic, innit. Are you going to come down to Cambridge tomorrow Anna?
by Anna Mc - Fri 4th Mar 2005, 5:51pm
I've just confused my office by screaming very loudly.

Well done W1 - you are beyond great. This is so amazine and you overbumped the green monsters.

Churchill yesterday, Girton today, absolutely brilliant.
by Mike - Fri 4th Mar 2005, 4:15pm
Well done W1! Is this the highest position ever for FaT women?
by Mike - Fri 4th Mar 2005, 3:02pm
Bored said: has any crew ever managed an "uber-blade" by bumping on 5 consecutive days
Watch out for Caius W2 tomorrow. They have bumped on all four days so far (the only crew still in with a shout of uber-blades) and chase Catz W2 tomorrow (who failed to bump Wolfson W1 today). Pretty good chances there, unless Wolfson and Catz conspire to mess it up.
by Dubya - Thu 3rd Mar 2005, 8:58pm
Tom C said: What've people got against Churchill?
Look at the first women, Lent term 2002. And while you're at it, Thursday of Lent term 2001.
by Tom C - Thu 3rd Mar 2005, 6:10pm
Anna Mc said: Well done W1 for bumping Churchill. I'm guessing that was a particularly sweet bump.
What've people got against Churchill?
by mjb - Thu 3rd Mar 2005, 5:27pm
Dubya said: Here's hoping the girls will get the overbump tomorrow...
Or the double overbump (on LMBC ...)
by Dubya - Thu 3rd Mar 2005, 5:25pm
Here's hoping the girls will get the overbump tomorrow...
by Anna Mc - Thu 3rd Mar 2005, 4:24pm
Well done W1 for bumping Churchill. I'm guessing that was a particularly sweet bump.

Good luck to everyone racing in the next two days.

RAH RAH 1st & 3rd.
by Anything to do with being short - Thu 3rd Mar 2005, 9:33am
I was pushing off: we should have been fined, as the bung was dropped early. Fisher was right there to adjudicate.

Incidendally (spelling?) I told Pete that we should be fined, but someone (don't know who, but a third party) radioed through that the chain had caught on something under the water and the fine should be reduced.....
by Simon - Thu 3rd Mar 2005, 9:09am
I think fining people for dropping the bung discourages them from doing it which is good as it encourages people to make sure they have a competent bank party pushing them off. Let's face it, there are plenty of times where we've seen crews start off at stupid angles because the push off has gone wrong and the cox hasn't dropped the bung. In these situations dropping the bung would gain an advantage (or remove a disadvantage) but as it wouldn't necessarily be an obvious quantifiable one, you can't change the result of the race. Thus you fine the crew instead. And you also fine them when the bung is dropped accidently with no attempt to seek advantage, just in the same way that you penalise accidental errors in rugby in a lesser way than deliberate errors.
by It wasn't my fault! - Thu 3rd Mar 2005, 1:12am
In fairness, we REALLY did not gain any advantage from dropping the bung. 2 and 4 were rowing light pressure and 5 and 7 weren't rowing at all for the draw strokes... On Friday, we plan to row with 8 rowers who a) WILL NOT COME OFF THEIR SEATS and b) WILL ROW WITH FEET STRAPPED IN THE BOAT!
by Simon - Wed 2nd Mar 2005, 11:35pm
Far away but still cheering you on said: Since when has this been a fining offence?
Ages and ages... it's a fine if you drop it and don't gain advantage, and then it's at the Umpire's discretion to change the result of a race if s/he thinks a crew gains advantage.
by Far away but still cheering you on - Wed 2nd Mar 2005, 10:02pm
I notice that M3 got a fine for dropping the bung. Since when has this been a fining offence? Given their descriptions of the start, they certainly didn't gain any advantage, so I don't understand why the fine has been given. Can anybody more up to date on the rules enlighten me?

By the way, Ra Ra First and Third. Good luck to all crews.

(1st men - It's traditional to hit Caius on Day 2 to go head, and then spend the rest of the week about 6 inches ahead of them! I look forward to reading the reports)
by Deskbound for Bumps - Wed 2nd Mar 2005, 4:22pm
Great result for W1 today. Well done.

Good luck chasing Churchill tomorrow, they are so so yours.
by esther (wanting to be there rather than stuck here in a boat) - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 10:36pm
Forgotten bumps had started. Good luck everyone!
by Mike - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 6:38pm
Martin said: Anyone fancy Maypole-ing this evening? Will Thorne, Andrew Fisher and I agreed to head there around 7:30.
Sounds good to me.
by Martin - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 6:01pm
Anyone fancy Maypole-ing this evening? Will Thorne, Andrew Fisher and I agreed to head there around 7:30.
by Mike - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 5:47pm
Mike said: How bored are you? You could check the last few years' charts for any such occurrences...
To answer that question: no-one has yet achieved the uber-blades of bumping five times on five different days. Fitzwilliam W1 were on course in 2001, having bumped up three times (into the first division) in the first three days before plague struck and racing was cancelled.

After day 1 this year, four crews (King's M1, Pembroke M2, Robinson W1 and Caius W2) are still on course to manage it.

Yes. I am bored.
by Mike - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 5:36pm
Dubya said: no but you'd have sub-spoons, which is arguably just as cool.
Maybe, but as there is no way of being bumped more than four times (this being a sensible institution with a sensible set of bumping rules) it would therefore also be impossible to be bumped on five consecutive days.

There goes your race plan...
by Dubya - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 5:25pm
Mike said: That wouldn't really qualify you for uber-blades though would it?
no but you'd have sub-spoons, which is arguably just as cool.
by Mike - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 5:22pm
Dubya said: Cant you also do it by being bumped down,
That wouldn't really qualify you for uber-blades though would it?
by Mike - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 5:22pm
Bored said: the stupid new Lents rule
I was also going to point out that Chris was showing his age ;) I suspect that the 'new' rule has been around longer than any current club rowers. Mind you, I remember rowing in (the 7th VIII at the bottom of) the now-defunct 5th division, and I agree that the current setup is both stupid and new...
by Dubya - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 5:18pm
Mike said: Not necessarily. You could start 2nd in Division 2, bump up on day 1 to sandwich boat, then bump the remaining four days in Division 1. Or start 3rd in Division 3, bump up to sandwich boat by the 2nd day, then bump three days in Division 2. Or start 4th in Division 4 etc etc.

How bored are you? You could check the last few years' charts for any such occurrences...
Cant you also do it by being bumped down, assuming you start in the 2nd or 3rd divisions? Cant be bothered to work out the details but am sure it is possible.
by gf - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 5:15pm
Simon said: It's now in its 8th year... when does it stop being new?
The New Forest hasn't been renamed yet...
by Simon - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 5:14pm
Bored said: With the stupid new Lents rule
It's now in its 8th year... when does it stop being new?
by Mike - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 5:14pm
Bored said: (I imagine this could only work starting in the 4th division?)
Not necessarily. You could start 2nd in Division 2, bump up on day 1 to sandwich boat, then bump the remaining four days in Division 1. Or start 3rd in Division 3, bump up to sandwich boat by the 2nd day, then bump three days in Division 2. Or start 4th in Division 4 etc etc.

How bored are you? You could check the last few years' charts for any such occurrences...
by mjb - Tue 1st Mar 2005, 5:11pm
Bored said: (I imagine this could only work starting in the 4th division?)
No, you just have to ensure you start off (n-1)th in the nth division ...

Show 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 Following 50Last 50


Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter
If you have any comments or suggestions please email the webmaster. Click here to switch to the darker, gold on blue, design. If you log in as a First and Third member, you can set a preference for a color scheme on your profile.
^ top